Under 14's Lose To Shamrocks

November 8, 2018


Edenderry’s under 14 footballers bowed out of the Feile at the Semi-Final stage for the second year in a row when they were beaten by Shamrocks on a scoreline of 1-05 to 0-03 last Saturday.

Edenderry made a good start with Aaron McDonnell scoring the opening point from a free, which was awarded for a foul on Adam Mahon. Edenderry very nearly followed that score with a goal, but luckily for Shamrocks their ‘keeper was in fine form to make a good save from Alex Kenny. Shamrocks gained the upper hand for the remainder of the half, and scored four unanswered points before the halftime break.

Halftime, Edenderry 0-01 Shamrocks 0-04.

Edenderry made a bright start to the second half when centre forward Mikey Clear scored two points in a row to narrow Shamrocks lead to the minimum. But then Shamrocks scored a goal when the ball was floated into the Edenderry square, where it was punched to the net by a Shamrocks forward. The goal stood even though it looked like the forward was standing inside the square before the ball had arrived. Almost immediately Edenderry had the chance to cancel out the Shamrocks goal when the referee awarded Aaron McDonnell a penalty after he was dragged down in the area. But unfortunately for Edenderry the Shamrocks goalkeeper made a brilliant save from the resulting spot-kick to deny Aaron McDonnell after a well struck shot. From Shamrocks next attack they were awarded a free which they converted to open up a five point lead. With the game nearing the end, Edenderry went in search of a goal, but for the third time in the game the Shamrocks goalie made a great save, this time to deny Adam Mahon from close range.

This was a poor performance from Edenderry, but they know if get their heads down and get through some hard work in the training field, they could have a good run in the upcoming championship.

Team: Cain Brereton; Mikey McNeilis, Craig Monaghan, Damien Sadowski; Ciaran Farrell, Ross Mangan, Karl Murphy; Aaron McDonnell (0-1), Matthew O’Grady; Adam Mahon, Mikey Clear (0-2), Jamie Dolan; Alex Kenny, Oran Lawton, Leslie Nolan.

Substitutes: Dylan Maloney, Mark Abbott, David Hughes, Kevin Beatty, Stephen Connolly, Conor Dunne, Bobby Walsh, Eamonn Costello, Robert Cronin.