Weekend Reports

November 8, 2018

Seniors Defeat St Finbarrs in S.H.L.

On Saturday at Páirc na Bríde we played Round 9 of the 2009 Red FM Conroy Cup Senior Hurling League. Our opponents were Togher side St Finbarrs who defeated us in the first round of the 2008 Senior Hurling Championship on the evening of Bartlemy Races. Saturday’s game was a dour tussle with defences on top and all scores were hard earned on the day. We won a low scoring contest by 0-13 to 1-8. Our top scorer was Sean Ryan with 5 points.


Team & Scorers: D Fitzgerald, J Delaney, B Murphy, J Murphy, S Kearney (0-1), B Murphy, L Forde, P Murphy, M Kearney (0-1), M Collins (0-1), S Ryan (0-5), R Cahill, C O’Keeffe, N Fitzgerald (0-1), D Dooley (0-2).

Subs: T Broderick (0-1), S Boyce (0-1).


Minor Football

On Thursday night our minor football team played its first game of the year when they travelled to Cobh to take on the home side under lights in the East Cork League. Cobh were far too strong for us on the night and won by 4-14 to 1-7. Though well beaten, it was a good opening for the season. We are going to struggle at minor grade in both hurling and football but we must still put in the effort.


Team: P Dee, S Roche, M Howard, W O’Leary, J Kearney, B Collins, J Mannix, J O’Sullivan, J Pratt, D Lane, F Collins, G Healy.

Subs: D Quirke, S O’Leary, K Cahill, D Buckley, E Murphy, M Dooley.

Unfortunately Daniel Lane received a serious finger injury in the game, best wished for a speedy recovery.


Club Executive Meeting

The next meeting of the Club Executive is on Monday April 6th at 9pm.


Poc Fada

Best wishes to the Juvenile Club who are holding a Poc Fada competition in Bartlemy on Easter Monday April 13th. The ‘course’ will be from Garryantaggart Cross to the Grove, on to Ballyda and then back to Bartlemy Village where the Bride Rovers Club was founded just over 80 years ago.


Membership Fees

A reminder, if you have not yet paid your 2009 Bride Rovers GAA Membership Fee, please do so as soon as possible. Membership Fees can be paid to Club Cisteoir James Bermingham or to any Club Executive member.