Weekly Notes

November 8, 2018

On Sunday in Tuam Stadium we were beaten by Cortoon-Shamrocks in the ‘North’ Junior ‘C’ football championship final on a scoreline of 2-6 to 0-7. Playing with the breeze in the first half we lead by three points to no score after eight minutes with our scores coming from Gerry Forde, Aidan Connaughton and Wayne Melia.  Our next score came on twenty minutes a point from Damien Skerritt but in between we had some very bad wides and also missed a penalty as the winners also shot four points to make it all square at the break.  Against the wind in the second half we got off to bad start as Cortoon scored a goal after only two minutes and added a point eight minutes later.   Thomas Forde had our first point of the second half on fifteen minutes and Forde added another five minutes later but we conceded another goal with five minutes to go and that ended any chance we had of victory in the final.  Our team was: Declan Walsh, Vivian Silke, Paul Curran, Niall Greaney, Shane Hession, Derek Joyce, John O’Neill, Tom Forde (0-3), Damien Skerritt (0-1), Evan Melia, Martin Duggan, Gerry Forde (0-1), Jimmy Forde, Aidan Connaughton (0-1)  Wayne Melia (0-1). Subs used Kenneth Leonard, James Melia and Ian O’Dowd.


The club A.G.M is on Sunday Dec 3rd in the Clubhouse at 3.30pm and members are reminded that all Nominations papers must be returned to the Secretary by Friday Nov 24th.


We play An Chreathru Rua in Cregg on Saturday in the senior league.


We had no jackpot winner or match three in this weeks lotto from numbers 2, 3, 5, 26.  Seven Days Knockdoe won the promoters prize and next weeks draw is in Cunniffes, Clonboo for a jackpot of €7600.


 Ladies Football U-16 Championship Final


Annaghdown 5-3 Claregalway 2-14


In a thrilling final played in Caherlistrane last Sunday, Claregalway edged out near neighbours Annaghdown by two points in this B championship decider. The game was in doubt right up to the final whistle when a penalty that was brilliantly saved by Mary Kate Killilea rebounded to a Claregalway forward that slotted the ball to the net. Annaghdown were first to attack and were off target with two efforts. Claregalway were first to score with a point from a free. Two further scores put Claregalway three points ahead. A point from Nicola Burke after 10 minutes settled the Annaghdown girls. A goal from the same player was followed by another goal two minutes later; this time it was Katie Donohue’s turn to hit the net. Another sweeping move that developed in the back line was finished to the net by full forward Vanessa Creaven to leave Annaghdown ahead by 3.01 to 0.03. The next 12 minutes belonged to the Claregalway girls as they fired nine points over the bar. Annaghdown only other score in the first half was a goal scored by Vanessa Creaven. This left the half time score at Annaghdown 4.01 to Claregalway 0.12. A one point game as we entered the second half and it was Claregalway who struck first with a point from play. Fourteen minutes passed before we had another score, and again it was Claregalway who scored, this time with a well-taken goal. They now had the lead for the first time in the match, but the response from Annaghdown was immediate. A point from Aoife Scully was followed a minute later with a goal from the in form Vanessa Creaven. Another point from the same player put Annaghdown ahead by 5.03 to 1.13 with six minutes left on the clock. Sadly Annaghdown were not to scoring again and it was Claregalway, firstly with a penalty and then with a point that went on to capture the cup. Final score Annaghdown 5.03 Claregalway 2.14. After the match Mr Benny Fahy chairman of the County Board presented the cup to the winning captain Aisling Burke. This was by all accounts a fine game of football where both sides played their hearts out right up to the final whistle. The Annaghdown backs led by their captain Aine Curry stood their ground well under heavy pressure from the Claregalway forwards; our midfield and forwards worked hard throughout and took their goals well. Well done to the management team of Mickey Burke, Martina Coen and Margaret Creaven for all their efforts throughout the year.  Panel  Mary Kate Killilea, Ailson Burke. Aoife Coen, Cliona killilea, Lillian Donoghue, Aine Curry (capt), Deirdre Scully, Vanessa Creaven 3-1,Nicola Burke1-1, Claire Delaney, Mariah Butler, Kimberley Savage, Katie Donohue1- 0, Aoife Scully 0.1, Lisa Flaherty, Chloe Hughes, Michelle Raftery, Rachel Murphy, Ciara Farragher, Ciara Naughton, Katie Savage, Sarah Galvin, Mary F Ryan, Aoibheann Browne


Sponsors: Newell Construction Ltd, Michael Flathery roofing, Top Klass Hair & Beauty Corrandulla and Paul Reilly Tiling Caherlistrane. Many thanks to the Regan family for their hospitality after the match