Weekly Notes

November 8, 2018

County League Division 1 Rathmore versus Laune Rangers on Sunday December 14th in Rathbeg at 2:00p.m

Results: East Kerry Novice Final Rathmore 2-09 Scartaglin 0-08
               County League Division 1 Dr Crokes 1-06 Rathmore 0-11

Rathmore 0-11 Dr Crokes 1-06
This County League game was played in Lewis Road on Sunday. Rathmore secured their Division 1 status for another year after a great second half performance. Rathmore opened the scoring in the 4th minute through a Damien Casey free. Both sides kicked bad wides in the opening quarter. Crokes got off the mark in the 15th minute when Brian Looney pointed. A Mickie Joe Kelleher point in the 25th minute left Rathmore leading by a point but in the last five minutes of the half Crokes clocked up 1-02. A Gavin Tucker point in the 26th minute levelled the scoring. They took the lead in the 28th minute when Ambrose Donovan pointed. Then in the last minute of the half Kieran O’ Leary finished a great Crokes move to the Rathmore net. Half time Dr Crokes 1-03 Rathmore 0-02.
A John Buckley point in the opening minute of the second half left a goal between the sides. Crokes opened their second half account through a Kieran O’ Leary free in the 3rd minute. A Jamie Doolan free in the 5th minute pushed Crokes further ahead. A Damien Casey free in the 6th minute kept Rathmore in touch. Crokes went six points ahead when Eoin Brosnan pointed in the 7th minute to leave the score Dr Crokes 1-06 Rathmore 0-04. This was Crokes last score of the game as Rathmore started to dominate around the centre. Pointed frees by Jerry Murphy and Michael Riordan in the 15th and 17th minute started the Rathmore comeback. Paul Reen finished a good Rathmore move in the 19th minute when he pointed, and a Jerry Murphy free in the 22nd minute left the minimum between the sides, Dr Crokes 1-06 Rathmore 0-08. A Brian O’ Leary point in the 23rd minute levelled the match up. Then Rathmore pushed ahead and finished the stronger when Michael Riordan pointed in the 25th minute, and a Conor O’ Sullivan point in the 28th minute. Final Score Dr Crokes 1-06 Rathmore 0-11.
Rathmore Team and Scorers: Jameson Hughes, Kieran Cahill, Tom O’ Sullivan, Michael O’ Sullivan, James O’ Sullivan, Aidan O’ Mahony, Brian O’ Leary (0-01), John Buckley (0-01), Daniel O’ Sullivan, Conor O’ Sullivan (0-01), George O’ Keeffe, Michael Joe Kelleher (0-01), Michael O’ Riordan (0-02), Damien Casey (0-02), Eoin Lawlor. Subs: Jerry Murphy (0-02) for Damien Casey, Paul Reen (0-01) for Michael Joe Kelleher, Tim Cronin for Daniel O’ Sullivan, Stephen Lehane for Eoin Lawlor.

Rathmore 2-09 Scartaglin 0-08
Rathmore regained the Novice Championship with a comfortable win against Scartaglin in Rathbeg on Saturday last. Scartaglin opened the scoring in the 2nd minute with a Timmy O’ Connor free. Rathmore got off the mark through a Dermie Fitzgerald point in the 5th minute. Timmy O’ Connor doubled Scartaglin’s tally with another free in the 8th minute. Rathmore struck for their first goal when Paul Murphy found the net in the 10th minute, to leave Rathmore leading 1-01 to 0-02. A Dermie Fitzgerald point in the 15th minute put three points between the sides. Scart reduced the lead to two when Thomas Forde pointed in 18th minute, but Paul Murphy found the net again in the 22nd minute to leave Rathmore further ahead 2-02 to 0-03. Scart replied with another Timmy O’ Connor point in the 23rd minute. Both sides swapped points in the dying minutes of the half through Rathmore’s Ian O’ Leary and Scartaglin’s Tom O’ Sullivan to leave the half time score Rathmore 2-03 Scartaglen 0-05.
A Mikey Fitzgerald point in the 4th minute opened Rathmore’s second half account. Scartaglin’s Timmy O’ Connor kept them in touch with a point in the 9th minute. Dermie Fitzgerald pointed another free in the 13th minute to leave Rathmore leading Rathmore 2-05 to 0-06. Scartaglin got another point in the 20th minute but Rathmore pushed further ahead with two points from Dermie Fitzgerald in the 21st and 24th minute to put six points between the teams. Scartaglin faded out of the game as Rathmore added another two points in the 27th and 29th minute through John Joe Murphy and David Casey. Scartaglen got a consolation point in the dying seconds to leave the final score Rathmore 2-09 Scartaglin 0-08. After the game East Kerry Board PRO Pat O’ Brien presented the cup to captain Ian O’ Leary.
Rathmore Team and Scorers: Patrick Noonan, Brendan Reen, David Casey (0-01), John O’ Connell, Colm Kelly, Louie O’ Keeffe, Jeremy Moynihan, John Joe Murphy (0-01), Shane O’ Keeffe, Mikey Fitzgerald (0-01), Dermie Fitzgerald (0-05), Donie Kelleher, Ian O’ Leary (0-01), Brendan Nagle, Paul Murphy (2-00). Subs Used: David McCarthy for Jeremy Moynihan, Don Casey for Paul Murphy, William O’ Connor for Brendan Nagle, Jack Reen for John Joe Murphy.

Scor Na Nog: Rathmore recently competed in the East Kerry Scor in the Aras Padraig Killarney. We entered in five events, doing very well in all of them. We entered in the Recitation, Ballad group, Solo Singing, Quiz, Set Dancing. Fiona O’ Donoghue was our only winner in the Solo Singing, but all our entrants done the club proud. The other entrants were Ballad Group Norina Nagle, Julianne O’ Sullivan, Elaine O’ Leary, and Denise Hickey. Recitation Diarmuid Foley. Quiz Padraic McCarthy, Tadgh Moynihan and Cathal Murphy. Set Dancing Kay McAuliffe, Darren Nagle, Ciara Doherty, Andrew McCarthy, Catriona Sullivan, Padraig Callaghan, Norelle Murphy and Patrick Callaghan.
Since the East Kerry Scor Final Fiona O’ Donoghue has gone on to win in the county semi finals, and will represent the club in the County Final in Killarney in December. Best of Luck Fiona.