Welcome Inn League Division 1B Round 1 - Davitts v Aughamore

November 8, 2018

Davitts 0-12, Aughamore 0-7.

After 16 minutes of this league match, played in windy Ballindine on Saturday evening, Aughamore led by 0-5 to 0-0, and only the most optimistic Davitts supporters in the large attendance gave the home team any chance of victory, but nobody told the Davitts players, who absolutely dominated the rest of the game. Points from Alan Freeman (2), Liam Groarke, Caoimhin Carty and Cathal Carty had the visitors ahead midway through the first half while assisted by the strong wind, but Davitts began to play some top class football and the impressive Liam Kearns got their opening two scores from play before Keith Prendergast and David McDonagh closed the deficit to the minimum at the interval.

Davitts lively wing forward Aidan McTigue and Alan Freeman from Aughamore swapped points after the break before Davitts assumed complete control around the middle of the field, with Ronan McNamara and David McDonagh winning lots of possession and the halfbackline of Jonathon Clarke, Paul Carey and James Cummins mopping up the breaks and driving forward. Further points from McNamara, Kearns (2), McTigue (2) and a monstrous effort from McDonagh had Davitts five points up before Colm Forde pointed for the visitors with 2 minutes remaining. It was fitting that man of the match Liam Kearns had the final say, scoring a 45 in injury time.
As well as those mentioned, Davitts had brilliant performances from team captain Colm Boyle, leading by example, Kevin Gallagher and Michael Conroy, who caused panic in the Aughamore defence throughout the game. In a game Aughamore will quickly want to forget, their best players were David Kilkenny, an impressive full back, Caoimhin Carty, Colm Forde, Alan Freeman and Cathal Carty, until he got injured.

Davitts: Paddy Kirrane, Kevin Gallagher, Frankie Barrett, Colm Boyle, Johnno Clarke, Paul Carey, James Cummins, Ronan McNamara (0-1), David McDonagh (0-2), Liam Kearns (0-5), Keith Prendergast (0-1), Aidan McTigue (0-3), Richie Kilkenny, Fergal McGrath, Michael Conroy. Sub: Colm Roche.

Aughamore: Niall Walsh, Iarla Carty, David Kilkenny, Colm Garvey, Caoimhin Carty (0-1), John Og Robinson, Enda Sweeney, Colm Forde (0-1), Simon McGuinness, Brendan Jordan, Alan Freeman (0-3), Paul Hunt, Liam Groarke (0-1), Cathal Carty (0-1), Jimmy Kilkenny. Sub: Kenny Feeney.

Ref: John Hughes.