Young Munster now with 5 Irish Clubs representatives – Neville Melbourne joins the squad to face England Counties

November 7, 2018

Young Munster No.8 Neville Melbourne has been called up tothe squad in preparation for this weekend’s game, and joins the other fourYoung Munster players on the Irish side. This brings the Young Munsterrepresentation to five on the Irish squad, the largest representation from anyof the clubs.


The Ireland Clubs XV took a 26-21 win over the Scots toclaim the Dalriada Cup for the second successive year, on Friday, March 9 atAnglesea Road, Dublin. The Irish side is made up of a combination of the bestrugby players from the Ulster Bank Club League.


Young Munster’s Mike Kelliher started the game at firstcentre to get his first cap, with Young Munster’s Ger Slattery the first choicehooker. Young Munster flanker Liam Og Murphy came off the bench after 48minutes with Young Munster prop Hugh McGrath also getting game time in thesecond half to secure his first Irish Club cap.


The Ireland Club Squad will face the England Counties onMarch 16th away in Preston Grasshoppers RFC. Good luck to the Young Munsterplayers and all the Irish players involved.

IRELAND CLUB Team &Replacements v Scotland Clubs XV, Ulster Bank Club International, AngleseaRoad, Old Belvedere RFC, Friday, March 9, kick-off 6.30pm:

15. Rodger McBurney (Ballymena)*
14. Cian Aherne (Lansdowne)*
13. Killian Lett (Clontarf)
12. Mike Kelliher (Young Munster)*
11. Cathal Quinn (Cork Constitution)*
10. Craig Ronaldson (Lansdowne)*
9. Gerry Hurley (Cork Constitution)
1. Rob Sweeney (St. Mary’s College)
2. Ger Slattery (Young Munster)
3. Christy Condon (Dolphin)
4. Philip Donnellan (Cork Constitution)
5. Fergal Walsh (Shannon)
6. Simon Crawford (Clontarf) (capt)
7. Barry O’Mahony (Clontarf)
8. Hugh Hogan (St. Mary’s College)


19. Frank Cogan (Clontarf) for Hogan (38),18. Liam Og Murphy (Young Munster) for Condon (48 mins), 17. Risteard Byrne(UCD)* for Slattery (61 mins), 21. Barry Keeshan (Dolphin) for Ronaldson (74mins), 16. Hugh McGrath (Young Munster)* for Crawford (77 mins). 

* Denotes previouslyuncapped player